Home Chhattisgarh Bhupesh Baghel filed his nomination papers from Rajnandgaon seat.

Bhupesh Baghel filed his nomination papers from Rajnandgaon seat.

Bhupesh Baghel filed his nomination papers from Rajnandgaon seat.

Rajnandgaon. Congress candidate and former Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel on Tuesday filed his nomination papers from Rajnandgaon Lok Sabha seat of Chhattisgarh. Baghel (62) posted pictures of himself filing nomination papers at Rajnandgaon District Magistrate's office on his 'X' handle and wrote, “Taking the trust of every citizen of Rajnandgaon Lok Sabha as witness, I have filed nomination papers today.” (We will win.” Elections for 11 Lok Sabha seats in the state will be held in three phases on April 19, April 26 and May 7 and the counting of votes will take place on June 4.

Talking to reporters after filing nomination papers, Baghel said, “I have filed nomination papers. I express my gratitude to Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge ji, Sonia Gandhi ji, Rahul ji, Priyanka ji, KC Venugopal ji for selecting me as the party candidate.” He said, “I have visited all the assembly constituencies under Rajnandgaon Lok Sabha. People and party workers are excited. Farmers, laborers and tribals are eagerly waiting for 26th April (voting day).

I hope I get everyone's blessings.” Rajnandgaon is a semi-urban seat which borders Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra. Former Chief Minister Raman Singh is the MLA from Rajnandgaon assembly seat. Everyone is eyeing this seat after Congress made Baghel its candidate. This Lok Sabha seat is currently held by BJP's Santosh Pandey. In 2019, Pandey defeated Congress's Bholaram Sahu by a margin of 1,11,966 votes.

BJP has again made Pandey its candidate on this seat. Former Chief Minister and Assembly Speaker Raman Singh was once elected to the Lok Sabha from this seat in 1999. Since the formation of the state in 2000, the BJP has won the Rajnandgaon seat most of the times in general elections. BJP has lost this seat to Congress only once in the 2007 Lok Sabha by-election.