Wednesday, April 24, 2024
Google search engine
HomeChhattisgarhCongress has fielded MLA and former minister Kawasi Lakhma from Bastar Lok...

Congress has fielded MLA and former minister Kawasi Lakhma from Bastar Lok Sabha seat of Chhattisgarh.

play icon Listen to this article

Raipur. Congress has fielded MLA and former state minister Kawasi Lakhma from Chhattisgarh's Bastar Lok Sabha seat by removing its sitting MP Deepak Baij. Along with this, the main opposition party has announced candidates for seven out of 11 Lok Sabha seats in the state.

Voting will be held in the first phase of general elections in Naxal-affected Bastar (Scheduled Tribe Reserved) parliamentary constituency on April 19. Nominations can be filed for this seat till March 27. Lakhma, an influential tribal leader of the party in Bastar region of the state, is a six-time MLA. He has been winning the Konta assembly seat of Sukma district continuously since 1998. He had served as the Industries and Excise Minister in the previous Bhupesh Baghel-led Congress government in the state.

Party's state president Deepak Baij is MP from Bastar. The party has refused to give ticket to Baij. The party had fielded Baij from Chitrakote assembly seat in the last assembly elections but he had to face defeat at the hands of the BJP candidate.

Congress had announced candidates for six seats in its first list earlier this month. The party has fielded former Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, two former ministers of the state and a sitting MP in this Lok Sabha election. The state's ruling party Bharatiya Janata Party has announced the names of its candidates for all the 11 seats. Voting for 11 seats of Chhattisgarh will be held in three phases on April 19, April 26 and May 7. Counting of votes will take place on June 4.

- Advertisment -
The Uncut

Most Popular