Jharkhand: CM Hemant Soren got the trust of 45 MLAs, won the vote of confidence in the assembly

The Uncut

Jharkhand: Hemant Soren, who took power as the 13th Chief Minister of the state, presented the trust vote in the assembly on Monday. CM Soren won the trust vote amid strong uproar and walkout by the opposition.

Let us tell you, Jharkhand Assembly Speaker Rabindra Nath Mahato had allotted one hour to discuss the confidence motion.

So many people supported
A total of 45 MLAs in the 81-member assembly voted in favour of the confidence motion. However, independent MLA Saryu Rai did not participate in the voting process.

Protest against the government
Meanwhile, BJP MLAs protested against the state government outside the Ranchi Assembly.

These people expressed confidence
On Sunday evening, a meeting of the ruling and opposition MLAs was held to decide the strategy of the India Block and NDA MLAs during the trust vote in the special session of the Vidhan Sabha. The MLAs of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Congress and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) expressed confidence of winning the trust vote. On the other hand, the opposition party NDA said that it will not be easy for the ruling coalition.
Hemant Soren was sworn in as chief minister on July 4, a day after his predecessor Champai Soren stepped down.

He came out of jail on 28 June
Hemant Soren was released from jail on June 28 after he was granted bail by the Jharkhand High Court in a money laundering case linked to an alleged land scam. He resigned as chief minister shortly before he was arrested by the Enforcement Directorate (ED) on January 31.

Jharkhand currently has 76 MLAs in the 81-member assembly. Hemant Soren staked claim to form the government on July 3, after which the ruling JMM-Congress-RJD alliance submitted a list of support of 44 MLAs to the governor.

Share This Article
Leave a comment