NDA vs India: After Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha by-elections on 10 seats, the contest could be interesting in these states

The Uncut

In Maharashtra too, all eyes will be on the Rajya Sabha by-election. Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar’s wife Sunetra Pawar has filed her nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha by-election. There were also reports of a rift between senior NCP leader and minister Chhagan Bhujbal regarding this. Bhujbal also said in a statement that although he was keen to contest the election, he is not angry with Sunetra Pawar’s nomination.

Let us know how many seats are vacant in Rajya Sabha in which state after the Lok Sabha elections? Which Rajya Sabha members have won the Lok Sabha elections? What is the number of such MPs in Haryana and Maharashtra? When will by-elections be held on the vacant seats?

How many Rajya Sabha MPs have been elected in the Lok Sabha elections 2024?
After the Lok Sabha elections, 10 seats have fallen vacant in the Rajya Sabha. The Rajya Sabha Secretariat has notified these vacancies. The seats that have fallen vacant include two each in Assam, Bihar and Maharashtra, and one each in Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Tripura. After this notification, the Election Commission will announce new dates for the election to fill these vacancies in the Rajya Sabha.

Jyotiraditya Scindia, who was a Rajya Sabha member from Madhya Pradesh, contested the Lok Sabha elections from Guna seat and won. The BJP leader has also been given the Ministry of Telecommunications and Northeast Development in the Modi Cabinet at the Center.

Piyush Goyal and Udayanraje Bhosale, who were BJP Rajya Sabha MPs from Maharashtra, are now members of the Lok Sabha. Goyal, who won from Mumbai North seat, has been made the Minister of Commerce and Industry in the Modi government. Another leader Udayanraje Bhosale has been elected as a Lok Sabha MP from Satara.

In Haryana, Deepender Hooda, son of former Chief Minister Bhupendra Hooda, has won the election from Rohtak Lok Sabha seat. Earlier he was a Congress Rajya Sabha member from Haryana.

Apart from this, Misa Bharti (Bihar), Vivek Thakur (Bihar), Kamakhya Prasad Tasa (Assam), Sarbananda Sonowal (Assam), KC Venugopal (Rajasthan) and Biplab Kumar Deb (Tripura) have also won the Lok Sabha elections.

In which states will the Rajya Sabha elections be held?
Of the 10 vacancies in the seven states, seven were with the BJP, two with the Congress and one with the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). Both the Congress and the RJD are major constituents of the NDA. Candidates from states like Assam, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Bihar and Tripura are likely to win easily. If the NDA has sufficient numbers in the Maharashtra Assembly, its two candidates will win their respective seats but all eyes will be on the by-elections after the Lok Sabha elections. However, the BJP may face a tough challenge in the elections for the vacant seat in Haryana.

What is the math for Rajya Sabha elections in Haryana?
Among the states where Rajya Sabha elections will be held, the fight in Haryana will be the most interesting. It has become necessary because Deepender Hooda was elected as MP from Rohtak. The 90-member assembly is now reduced to 87 members. If we look at the party-wise strength, BJP has 41 MLAs of its own. Apart from these, with the support of two MLAs – Independent Nayan Pal Rawat and Gopal Kanda of Haryana Lokhit Party (HLP), BJP gets 43 seats.

On the other hand, if we look at the opposition, there are 44 MLAs here. These include 29 MLAs of Congress, 10 of Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) and three independents (Randhir Golan, Dharam Pal Gondar and Somveer Sangwan), fourth independent Balraj Kundu and Abhay Chautala of Indian National Lok Dal (INLD). Three independents Randhir Golan, Dharam Pal Gondar and Somveer Sangwan had earlier supported the government but recently they supported the Congress. Independent MLA Balraj Kundu from Meham has neither supported BJP nor Congress. INLD’s Abhay Chautala has also not yet announced support to any party. Congress is hopeful that if it gets the support of all the opposition MLAs, it can win the election from BJP, however everything is not going to be so easy.

In fact, in the case of 43 members on the BJP side and 44 on the opposition side, the role of JJP with 10 MLAs becomes very important. There have been reports of some MLAs of Dushyant Chautala’s party being unhappy with the party. Two JJP MLAs Jogiram Sihag and Ram Niwas Surjakheda have announced to support the BJP. JJP has also written a letter to Speaker Gyan Chand Gupta demanding action against these two MLAs under the anti-defection law. Now it will be interesting to see who wins this electoral chess game.

What is maths in Maharashtra?
Here, Rajya Sabha seats fell vacant due to Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj’s descendant Udayanraje Bhosale and Union Commerce Minister Piyush Goyal being elected to the Lok Sabha. The ruling Mahayuti has sufficient numbers in the state. Despite this, if the opposition fields a candidate, the contest here can be interesting. This is because there are signs of resentment in NDA’s constituent parties Shiv Sena and NCP due to not getting a place in the Union Cabinet. Meanwhile, Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar’s wife Sunetra Pawar has filed her nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha by-election.

Share This Article
Leave a comment