Home Chhattisgarh Yadav's protest from Bilaspur, Congress leader on fast unto death

Yadav's protest from Bilaspur, Congress leader on fast unto death

Yadav's protest from Bilaspur, Congress leader on fast unto death

Bilaspur. A local leader of the party has started a fast unto death in protest against giving ticket to Congress MLA Devendra Yadav from Bilaspur Lok Sabha seat of Chhattisgarh. The local leader has demanded a ticket for himself from this seat. After the All India Congress Committee announced the nomination of Devendra Singh Yadav as the candidate from Bilaspur Lok Sabha seat on Tuesday, local leaders in Bilaspur have started protesting against it.

Devendra Yadav has been elected Congress MLA for the second time from Bhilai Nagar of Durg district. In Bilaspur, party leaders are calling him an outsider candidate and are opposing him. On Wednesday, the second day after the announcement of Yadav being made the candidate from Bilaspur, at 10 am, former president of Bodri Nagar Panchayat of the district, Jagdish Kaushik (40) sat on a fast unto death in front of Congress Bhawan, the district office of Congress.

When Kaushik, who was lying on a carpet in the hot sun to fast, was asked what his demand was, he pointed towards a leaflet stuck on the wall above his head. It is written in the pamphlet, “Fast unto death. Why was I not made a candidate from Bilaspur Lok Sabha seat? What was lacking in my penance? Party high command (State/Central) should resolve. Give justice. Until you get the right to justice.”

When he was asked how long he would fast, he said, “Till the high command gives me justice.” Hopefully the party will do justice to me.” District Congress Committee (Rural) President Vijay Kesharwani said that Jagdish Kaushik is currently a Congress worker. He has been the President of Bodri Nagar Panchayat from 2009 to 2014. He had contested the elections as an independent.

Kesharwani told that after receiving the news of Kaushik going on fast, Kota MLA Atal Srivastava, City Congress Committee President Vijay Pandey and other leaders had requested him to break his fast but he is continuing his fast.
He said that efforts to convince Kaushik are ongoing.

Congress has fielded Yadav from Bilaspur seat. Both BJP and Congress have announced candidates for all 11 Lok Sabha seats. Yadav is contesting against BJP's Tokhan Sahu. Voting for 11 Lok Sabha seats in the state will be held in three phases on April 19, April 26 and May 7 and the counting of votes will take place on June 4.

Naxal-hit Bastar (ST) Lok Sabha constituency in the state will go to polls in the first phase of general elections on April 19, while three other constituencies, Mahasamund, Rajnandgaon and Kanker (ST) will go to polls on April 26. Voting will be held in the last phase on May 7 in the remaining seven seats Raipur, Durg, Bilaspur, Raigarh (ST), Korba, Janjgir-Champa (SC) and Surguja (ST). BJP had won 10 out of 11 Lok Sabha seats thrice in 2004, 2009 and 2014. In 2019, BJP had won nine out of 11 seats.