BJP, which has won four seats in Chhattisgarh, is leading on six seats, while Congress is ahead on one seat

The Uncut

Raipur. The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party in Chhattisgarh on Tuesday won four of the 11 Lok Sabha seats in the state and was leading in six. The Congress was leading in one constituency, Korba. BJP’s Chintamani Maharaj, who switched from Congress to BJP before last year’s assembly elections, won the Surguja constituency reserved for Scheduled Tribes by a margin of 64,822 votes against Congress’ Shashi Singh. Maharaj got 7,13,200 votes, while Singh got 6,48,378 votes.

BJP’s Kamlesh Jangde won from Janjgir-Champa seat reserved for scheduled castes in the state by a margin of 60 thousand votes over his nearest rival Shivkumar Dahria of Congress. Jangde got 6,78,199 votes and Dahria got 618199 votes.
MP from Durg constituency and BJP leader Vijay Baghel has won by a margin of 4,38,226 votes over Rajendra Sahu of Congress. Baghel got 956497 votes and Sahu got 518271 votes.

On the other hand, BJP candidate Mahesh Kashyap from Bastar seat reserved for scheduled tribes has won by a margin of 55245 votes against Congress’ Kawasi Lakhma. Kashyap got 458398 votes and Lakhma got 403153 votes. According to the Election Commission, BJP is leading in Raigarh, Bilaspur, Rajnandgaon, Raipur, Mahasamund and Kanker seats. On the other hand, Congress has managed to take lead only in Korba seat, where its sitting MP Jyotsna Mahant is leading by 43283 votes against BJP leader Saroj Pandey. Jyotsna is the wife of opposition party leader Charandas Mahant.

Share This Article
Leave a comment