NCP and BJP leaders did not want to see Shinde as Chief Minister in 2019: Sanjay Raut

The Uncut

Mumbai. Shiv Sena-Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray (Shiv Sena-UBT) leader Sanjay Raut on Sunday claimed that leaders of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), parties in the current government of Maharashtra, will elect Eknath Shinde as the Chief Minister in 2019. I didn’t want to see.

Raut, while speaking to reporters, also claimed that NCP leaders like Ajit Pawar, Dilip Walse Patil and Sunil Tatkare had opposed Shinde’s name for the chief minister’s post, saying they would not work under a junior and inexperienced person like him. do.

The Rajya Sabha member said, “Congress and NCP had said that they have many senior leaders and the leader of the alliance should be a person who is experienced and senior and can take everyone along.” Raut said that similarly, before Shiv Sena (undivided Shiv Sena led by Uddhav Thackeray) joined hands with Congress and NCP (as part of Maha Vikas Aghadi to form government), BJP’s Devendra Fadnavis, Girish Mahajan and Sudhir Mungantiwar. Like leaders had told Shiv Sena that they did not want Shinde to become the Chief Minister.” Ajit Pawar and Fadnavis are currently deputy chief ministers in the state government led by Chief Minister Shinde.

Raut said, “Shinde was already named as the leader of the Shiv Sena legislature party, but the BJP had said that it did not want Shinde to become the chief minister of the alliance.” The Shiv Sena (UBT) leader said, “Shinde was appointed the leader of the legislature party and could have been the chief ministerial candidate, but no one wanted to see him as the chief minister.” Raut said that NCP-Sharadchandra Pawar (NCP-SP) chief Sharad Pawar and Congress leader Rahul Gandhi felt that the alliance should choose a leader who has the support of all three parties.

Thackeray-led Shiv Sena broke ties with its old ally BJP after the 2019 state assembly elections. Thackeray later formed the state government in alliance with the NCP (then undivided) and the Congress. Shinde rebelled against the leadership of Shiv Sena in 2022 due to which the party got divided and after this he formed the government with BJP. Ajit Pawar and eight other NCP MLAs also joined hands with the government last year and the NCP formed by Sharad Pawar also got divided.

Share This Article
Leave a comment