Odisha: 69.34 percent voting in the elections for five Lok Sabha and 35 Assembly seats.

The Uncut

Bhubaneswar: In Odisha, 69.34 percent voting took place in the elections held on Monday for five Lok Sabha seats and 35 assembly seats. The officers provided this information. In the second phase of simultaneous elections in Odisha, voting was also held in Aska, Bolangir, Kandhamal, Sundargarh and Bargarh Lok Sabha constituencies and 35 assembly constituencies falling under these parliamentary seats.

Officials said on Tuesday that the highest turnout was 76.20 percent in Bargarh Lok Sabha constituency, 71.46 percent in Bolangir, 70.37 percent in Kandhamal, 67.74 percent in Sundargarh and 60.78 percent in Aska.

Talking about assembly constituencies, the highest turnout was 79.23 percent in Bhatli of Bargarh district, while the lowest was 58.21 percent in Nihajili of Ganjam.

Officials said the voting percentage may be slightly higher after including votes cast through postal ballot. These ballot papers will be opened at the counting center on June 4.

Odisha Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) NB Dhall said that barring some isolated incidents, voting was peaceful for five Lok Sabha constituencies and 35 assembly constituencies in the state.

40 candidates are in the fray in five Lok Sabha constituencies, while 265 candidates, including Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, are in the fray for 35 assembly seats.

Apart from Patnaik, the prominent candidates whose fate has been sealed in EVMs include six ministers from Odisha, two sitting BJP MPs Sangeeta Singh Deo, Jual Oram, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) MP Achyut Samant, former Union Minister Dilip Ray and others. Are.

There are a total of 21 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha while there are 147 assembly seats. Of these, voting has taken place so far for nine parliamentary seats and 63 assembly seats. Voting for the remaining Lok Sabha and Assembly seats in the state will be held in the next two phases on May 25 and June 1.

Share This Article
Leave a comment